Sri Akal Takht Sahib Ji

In the year 1606 A.D., Gum Hargobind Sahib accompamed by Bhai Gurdas and Baba Budha laid the foundation stone of Sri Akaal Takhat. Bhai Gurdas and Baba Budha devotedly performed and supervised the construction of Sri Akaal Takhat. The building was completed in 1609 A.D. It was constructed in front of Harimandir Sahib.After its completion Gum Hargobind Sahib appointed Bhai Gurdas its first Jathedar. It is symbol of authority both temporal as well as spiritual.Guru Hargobind used to hear the grievances of his Sikhs. While settling the cases of Sikhs, he also consulted Bhai Gurdas. At the throne of the Timeless (Akaal Takhat) instead of reciting hymns of Guru, the congregation heard heroic ballads describing feats of heroism. The Dhadis were singing Vaars of brave kings and soldiers. The Guru was not delivering religious sermons, instead he used to discuss the strategy of warfare. Akaal Takhat is the centre of Sikh adminstration. The Sikhs always pass resolutions here. This is the first Takhat of the Sikhs.There is one room where Guru Granth Sahib rests at night.

This holy shrine has seen many ups and downs. During the operation Blue Star it was badly damaged. It was blasted and reduced to shambles with heavy artillery attack. After damaging it badly the Government of India asked S. Buta Singh to repair the building. S. Buta Singh with the help of Baba Santa Singh, renovated it. But the Sikhs were not satisfied by this. They resented and five head priests excommunicated S. Buta Singh, Gaini Zail and Nihang Baba Santa Singh. After that Sikhs passed a resolution and after demolishing the building completely, constructed a new Akaal Takhat. Contribution of Dam Dami Taksal is laudable. New building is very beautiful and spacious. On the first storey the five Sikh priests hold meetings and settle the disputes of the Sikhs.

It is believed that there is a great significance of Akaal Takhat being in front of Harimandir Sahib. As Akaal Takhat represents Sikh politics while Harimandir Sahib exhibits Sikh religion. Guru Hargobind Sahib harmonized religion and politics into one. It is also said that Guru ordained his Sikhs that as long as he was sitting in Harimandir Sahib, he should be considered as a saint and when he enters the Akaal Takhat he should he looked upon as a temporal leader. The Harimandir Sahib and Akaal Takhat were damaged many times by the Muslim invaders.But during the reign of Sikh Misls and Maharaja Ranjit Singh, beautiful buildings were reconstructed. During the stiff days on the Sikhs, meeting of Sarbat Khalsa continued to he held a Akaal Takhat. There meetings

were held during the Bhisakhi and Diwali festivels. When ever an urgent matter had to be discussed the Sikhs assembled at the Akaal Takhat. When ever Sikhs had to go on an orduous expedition they finalized the scheme plan on Akaal Takhat. Here Gurmattas were passed by the Sarbat Khalsa. Here they took decisions for averting the dangers ahead.

The decision took there had spiritual and religious binding on them therefore no one could speak against verdicts taken at Akaal Takhat.Those who dared to speak against the decisions taken at Akaal Takat; were subject of excommonication from the panth. There they also discuss the measures to be taken for the spread of the Sikh Panth. The decisions are taken in the presence of five head priests of all Takhats so During the eighteenth century when the Sikhs were facing very difficult situations, the moral authority ofAkaal Takhat emboldened them to meet any type of situation. Even during the rule of Maharaja Ranjit Singh, there was no such thing as to break away the authority of Akaal Takhat,

even Maharaja accepted the decision at this place happily. He considered the authority of Akaal Takhat greater than him. He always accepted the verdict of Akaal Takhat with grace and humility. He always paid rich homage to Akaal Takhat to get strength and power to rule his state with great ability.

Even today Akaal Takhat is used for political meditations and calculations. The list of weapons placed at Akaal Takhat is as under:

1. One sword of Guru Gobind Singh Ji.

2. Two swords of Guru Hargobind Sahib.(MIRI & PIRI)

3. One sword of Baba Budha Ji.

4. One sword of Bhai Jetha (a general of the army of Guru- Hargobind Sahib)

5. One sword of Bhai Bidhi Chand Chhina.

6. One sword of Baba Naudh Singh.

7. One sword of Gurbax Singh Shahid.

8. One sword of Karam Singh Shahid.

9. One khanda (double edged sword) of Baba Deep Singh Shahid.

10. One sword of Jathedar Phoola Singh

11. One sharp edged sword of Jathedar Phoola Singh

12. One heavy Kharag Of Bhai Bachitter Singh

13. One sword Of Bhai Uday Singh

14. One gurj of Guru Hargobind Sahib

15. One kataar of Guru Hargobind Sahib

16. One kataar of Guru Gobind Singh

17. One kataar of Sahibzada Ajit Singh.

18. One sara jang of Guru Hargobind Sahib.

19. One kataar of Sahibzaada Jujhaar Singh.

20. Four kaatars of Akali Phoola Singh.

21. One small sword of Guru Hargobind Sahib

22. One pesh kabaz of Baba Deep Singh.

23. One small sword of Baba Deep Singh

24. One pistol of Baba Deep Singh.

25. One pistol of Baba Gurbax Singh

26. Two arrows of Guru Gobind Singh Ji.

27. One small khan’da which Baba Deep Singh weared on his turban.

28. Three small khandas and one kirpan of Baba Deep Singh Shaheed.

29. Small chakars of turban

30. One big chakar to wear round neck of Baba Deep Singh.

31. Ten big chakar to wear on turban of Baba Deep Singh.

32. One big sword of Baba Deep Singh.


Jathedars of Akaal Takhat

Following persons had been appointed as Jathedars of Akaal Takhat.

1. Bhai Gurdas ji upto 1637 A.D.

2. Bhai Mani Singh Shaheed upto 1734 A.D.

4. Jathedar Nawab Kapoor Singh Ji upto 1753 A.D.

5. S. Jassa Singh Ahluwalia uto 1783 A.D.

6. Jathedar Akali Phoola Singh upto 1822 A.D.

7. Baba Hanuman Singh for small period

8. Baba Prehlad Singh for small period

9. Baba Gian Singh for small period

10. Jathedar Teja Singh Bhuchchar upto Oct. 1921 A.D.

11. Jathedar Teja Singh Akarpuri upto 1923 and 1927 to 1931 A.Di

12. Jathedar Udham Singh Nagoke upto 1924 A.D.

13. Jathedar Didar Singh upto 1925 A.D.

14. Jathedar Jawahar Singh upto 1926 A.D.

15. Giani Gurmukh Singh Musafir upto 1934 A.D.

16. lathedar Mohan Singh Nagoke upto 1952 A.D.

17. Jathedar Achhar Singh upto 1955 A.D.

18. Jathedar Sadhu Singh Bhaura upto 1980 A.D.

19. Jathedar Gurdial Singh Ajnoha upto 1982 A.D.

20. Jathedar Partap Singh upto 1984 A.D.

21. Jathedar Kirpal Singh upto 1963-65 and 1982-86 A.D.